Leaving

I woke up this morning,

The bright yellow sun shining through my window.

I felt good until I turned around, seeing you: 

Standing there in the hallway, the suitcase in your hand.

“You are really leaving us?”

You nodded.

“I have to.”

What an explanation –

“I need my soverignity back.”

– not good enough –

“I am better off without you.”

– to persuade me

Or yourself.

I shook my head: “than go. Leave.

As fast as you can and carrying the consequences.”

You turned away, leaving me there.

I clinched  to the blanket, feeling nothing, knowing that nothing would change your mind.

Leave a Reply

