the skies

I was looking up to the skies and the stars were shining bright.
I was looking up to the skies: up to the future.
To the things I wish to find.
I haven’t found them yet. Will I ever?
[It doesn’t seem like that.]

I was looking up to the deep blue skies,
and to the various planets and galaxies
and the stardust hidden there.
Hidden behind these dark blue skies,
this sapphire non-light.

These skies have seen so much:
they have seen it all.
They have seen me being born
they have seen Napoleon at war
they have seen Shakespeare writing
and they will see so much more:

so will they please:
will this velvet firmament let me know what’s next?
will they put their light hands on my head and caress?
Or is it so far that not even they can see?

[And in that case we’ll be, the skies and me
looking at each other
trying not to think of much else
for however long lasts my eternity.

(Carolina Smnt)

 

Leave a Reply

