Hello (from the other girl)

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
Glen Coe & I looking good. I know you can’t see me very well [and that’s the whole point].
Hello, dear [hopefully existent] readers! I am Carolina and I will be posting on Lost Fragments weekly. I am from Brazil (and I also live here) and I met Alisa in January 2015, as we were both studying English in Eastbourne (East Sussex, UK). It was an instant connection: I still cannot believe how we got along so well so quickly! It seemed as if we’d been friends ever since I was a kid. And we’ve been great friends ever since: we bonded over many things, one of which is literature. Both of us dream of being writers and being read by other people and over the months we talked a lot about what we were reading and writing, and we thought (it was mostly Alisa’s idea) of creating a blog where both of us could post our writings. From then on the ideas just kept coming, and that’s why it’s now not only a literature blog but also a trilingual literature blog (possibly quadrilingual if any of us have the courage to write in Spanish). So if you’re able to read in English, Portuguese (mainly Brazilian Portuguese) and/or German, you’re in luck! You’re now going to have new things to read every week.

As a writer I focus mainly on prose fiction (short stories and I’m currently working on a novella), but I also write poetry and non-fiction articles sometimes, so you can expect to read all of those. I’ve been an avid reader ever since I learned how to read and from then on, writing was almost a natural next step. I cannot imagine myself as someone who doesn’t write: it’s intrinsic to who I am. I write when I’m happy, when I’m sad, when I’m bored: I write when I have nothing to do and when I have many other things to do. And when I’m not writing I’m often thinking about what I will write or how I should be writing. It’s who I am and what I do and what I want to be. And even if you’re not as crazy about it as I am, literature has a treat for everybody. And I hope you can feel that from reading my writings and not only from me telling you these things beforehand.

I will soon be posting new poetry and new short stories and you will hopefully enjoy them.

See you!

Leave a Reply

